Klaus Hinrich Stahmer

WU für Sheng, Klarinette und Viola (2010)

Instrumentation: Sheng, Clarinet, Viola
Sheng, Clarinet, Viola
Score, Set of parts (3)
Included Part(s): Sheng, Clarinet, Viola
Length (h:m:s): 00:11:30
Format: 21 x 29,7 cm
Pages: 46
Weight: 319 g
Verlag Neue Musik / NM1262
ISMN: 9790203215479
ISBN: 9783733307592


Delivery time: 10 days

WU for the Chinese mouth organ “sheng”, clarinet, and cello (resp. viola) was written in 2010. It is a slow tempo piece in one movement, which upon first hearing may remind the listener of some
similar pieces of the Classical or Romantic period. It is the composer’s intention, however, to create a sound continuum with muted tension by encrypting all nuances and expressions reminiscent of these periods. The single phrases arise from a far stretched sequence consisting of eleven chords. Transitions between sections appear like lighting changes, from which every part gets its own
individual characteristics. When hearing this music, the listener should experience a flow of time different from any Western tradition. The role of the sheng player is mainly to contribute far eastern
discipline and a very ancient tone colour to the dialogue. Finally, the melodic phrases played by the two other instruments become more and more ornamental. Any direct citation of Chinese music, however, is not intended, but the piece does deal with a part of Chinese philosophy. “Wu” is a Chinese character, a composite of the two elements for “I” (resp. the possessive pronoun “mine”) and “heart”. It has a deeper meaning which cannot be translated literally into English but may be described with the short sentence: “I had a sudden insight, now I understand.”