Sam Hayden

Becomings (Das Werden) IV für Klavier (2016/17)

Besetzung: Klavier
Dauer (h:m:s): 00:06:00
Format: 35,3 x 25 cm
Seiten: 24
Gewicht: 180 g
Verlag Neue Musik / NM2857
ISMN: 9790203235903
ISBN: 9783733320935


Lieferzeit: 10 Tage

The complete piece is in seven movements, although each movement is to an extent self-contained, so may be performed separately. Any selections from the seven movements can also be made and the performance ordering of the movements can also be changed.

Becomings is the latest in of a cycle of my recent pieces that combine ideas related to ‘spectral’ traditions with algorithmic approaches to composition. The piece oscillates constantly between dense, energetic, hyper-virtuosic gestural materials and moments of relative clarity, but never settling one way or the other, in a tension that is never really resolved. The sonic surfaces constantly ebb and flow, coalesce and decompose in a state of flux, existing on an unstable continuum between computer-generated synthetic scales and quasi-spectral harmonic fields. My intention was to create a piece with the maximum surface diversity and proliferation of materials whilst maintaining an underlying formal coherence.

Sam Hayden